Members

Jennifer Bergner-District 65jbergner@district65.net

Tana Paul-MFSpault@metrofamily.org

Carl Hampton-Family Institutechampton2@northwestern.edu

Martha Arntson-Childcare Network of Evanston

arntsonm@childcarenetworkofevanston.org

Joyce Bartz-District 65bartzj@district65.net

Kathleen Lyons-Moran Center for Youth Advocacyklyons@Moran-Center.org

Jonathon Webb-City of Evanstonjwebb@cityofevanston.org

Pat Vance-Evanston Neighbors at Workpvance@ceda.net

Karen Singer-Evanston Northshore YWCAksinger@ywcae-ns.org

Patrice Quehl-Evanston Police Departmentpquehl@cityofevanston.org

Eric Witherspoon–Evanston Township HSwitherspoone@eths.k12.il.us

Oscar Hawthorne-Evanston Township HShawthorneo@eths.k12.il.us

Dorothy Williams-Family Focus

dorothy.williams@family-focus.org, evanston@family-focus.org

Joanne Nett-DCFSjnett@idcfs.state.il.us

Fernando Freire-MFSfreiref@metrofamily.org

Kate Mahoney-The Chicago School-kmahoney@thechicagoschool.edu

Megan Polydoris-Peer Servicesmpolydoris@peerservices.org

Laura Dell-YOUlaura.dell@youevanston.org

Leah Seligman-YOUleah.seligman@youevanston.org

Paul Selden-Connections for the Homelessps@cfthinc.org

Randi Gurian-the Harbourrmgurian@theharbour.org

Monique Parsons-McGaw YMCAmoniquep@mcgawymca.org

Erika Carona-Big Brother/Big Sistercorona@bbbschgo.org

Chris Caroll-C4chris.carroll@c4chicago.org

Jenni Rook-Institute for Therapy through the Artsjrook@musicinst.org

Dana Fenceroy-Have Dreamsdlabrose@havedreams.org

Molly Verble-Youth Jobs Centermverble@youthjobscenter.org

Brian Williams-YOUbrian.williams@youevanston.org

Kim Mercer-Center for Independent Futureskmercer@independentfutures.com

Deborah Shulruf-SHOREdms.loislloydctr@sbcglobal.net

Cristina Cortesi-Evanston Township HScortesic@eths.k12.il.us

Anneliese Moy-ETHS Health Centeranneliese888@yahoo.com

Wendy Dickson-Evanston Northshore YWCAwdickson@ywcae-ns.org

Allison Harned-School District 65harneda@district65.net

Kristen Kennard-Moran Center for Youth Advocacykkennard@moran-center.org 

Heather Bourgeois-MFSbourgeoh@metrofamily.org

Randy Barrengos-School District 65barrengosr@district65.net

Jennifer Lloyd-School District 65lloyd@district65.net

Mary Jong Gerard-McGaw YMCAmaryjong@mcgawymca.org

Kelli Underwood-Center for Contextual Change

kelliu@centerforcontextualchange.org

Claudia Rose-Barr-Harris Children’s Grief Centerclo.rose@yahoo.com

Dayna Block-Open Studio Projectdaynab@openstudioproject.org

Mariola Kasper-MFSkasperm@metrofamily.org

Ed Reed-JCFSedwardreed@jcfs.org

Sue Sowle-McGaw YMCAsues@mcGawymca.org

Vivana Ploper-C4 SASSvivanaploper@c4chicago.org

S Smith-Youth Job Centerssmith@youthjobcenter.org

Cara Donley-Moran Center for Youth Advocacycdonley@moran-center.org

Jum McCarter-Maryville Academymccarterj@maryvilleacademy.org 

Ismalis Nunez-School District 65nunezi@district65.net

Rafael Rivera-YOUrafael.rivera@youevanston.org

John-Center for Contextual Changejohn@centerforcontextualchange.org

Allina Nikolopoulou-School District 65nikolopouloua@district65.net

Meghan Kelly-School District 65kellym@district65.net

Christine Chandler-EPLcchandler-s@cityofevanston.org

Julia Wall-JCFSjuliawall@jcfs.org

Nicole Jones-YOUnicolejones@youevanston.org

Allison Thurman-BBBSthurman@bbbschgo.org

Jim McCarter-Maryville: Scott Nolan Centermccarter@maryvilleacademy.org

Jessica Vlahogiannia-United Wayjessicavlahogiannis@uw-mc.org

Norm Asher-C4norman.asher@c4chicago.org

M Shultz-Youth Job Centermschultz@youthjobcenter.org

M Mooney-Peer Servicesmmooney@peerservices.org

Shaunita Bowen-YOUshaunita.bowen@youevanston.org

Dave Edelstein-Community Member-dedelstein@man.com

Pastor Dillard-First Church of God in Evanstonpoimendillard@fcogevanston.org

Mimi Landau-Private Practioner-mimi_landau@yahoo.com

Elizabeth Newtwon- Allowance for Goodelizabeth@allowanceforgood.org

Miguel Jimenez – Evanston Substance Abuse Prevention
www.esapcoalition.org

Katie Richburg – Riveredge Hospital – katie.richburg@uhsinc.com

Dana Bennison – Community Counseling Centers of Chicago – dana.b…@c4chicago.org 

Blair McAnany –Rogers Behavioral Health-Skokie – BMcAnany@rogershospital.org

Advertisements

3 responses

25 04 2013
Niki Schomas

My name is Niki Schomas and I am a special education teacher and parent of a child with autism. I recently released a 27-song social skills album titled “Beautiful You”, and although it is applicable for all children, it is specifically appropriate for children that are affected by autism related disorders. I thought that given that April is National Autism Awareness Month, I would share my social skills music program with parents and educators.

Tom McIntyre, a former teacher of students with behavior disorders and learning disabilities, is now a Professor of Special Education and Coordinator of the Graduate Program in Behavior Disorders at Hunter College of the City University of New York, recently stated this about the music: “An absolutely wonderful cornucopia of music (you’ll be able to listen to a great deal of it for FREE) that is not only beautifully composed, arranged, played and sung, but also teaches social skills and cognitive processing of events and feelings to youngsters with autism (and other mental health and behavioral issues). I was floored when I first listened to this CD. It is nourishment to the ear, the soul, and the cerebral cortex.(www.behavioradvisor.com)

My ultimate goal for the music is to provide children, families, and therapists with an inexpensive therapeutic tool that can be enjoyed and utilized to help teach children necessary social skills to help them succeed in life. I have piloted this music with my son, special education students, and some general education students as well, and the results are all consistent. When children learn new coping strategies through music, they are able to recall the strategies they have been taught when their behavior is escalating, and consequently learn how to independently manage their own behavior. The beauty of the music is that it is fun, and it doesn’t require any “work” on the part of the parents and children. It requires a cd player and perhaps a car ride of listening to enjoyable, contemporary music.

The sales of the cd will be utilized to help create a private school for kids whose academic and behavioral needs are not being met in public education settings. The irony of my life is that because there is no appropriate placement for my son with autism, he is being privately homeschooled by a certified teacher, while I continue my career as a special education teacher. There are too many children like my son, and my goal is to reach out to them and provide a safe, educational environment where they will thrive academically, be celebrated for their individuality, and encouraged to overcome challenges.

My request to you is to please consider sharing any information from this letter with your contacts in an effort to help spread the word, and promote a beneficial tool that has the potential to help countless children. My website address is nikischomasmusic.com and my contact information is nikischomasmusic@gmail.com. Free excepts of the music are available through my website, a free song is available, and a link to purchase the album is provided as well. Thank you so much for your consideration and have a blessed day! Niki

10 07 2013
andersonville boutiques

I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing issues with your website. It appears as though some of the written text in your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
Thanks

10 07 2013
lan40evanston

Hi, I’m an intern for Jenni Rook working on managing the site. I checked everything on Google Chrome and Internet Explorer as wasn’t able to see any text run-off. Could I ask you what browser you are using, and if there are any particular pages you are having problems with? There might be a formatting setting that I can change.
Thank you for your feedback!
Katie Burns

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s




%d bloggers like this: